Lasagna Cupcakes

Yep!  You read that correctly.  Lasagna… yum!  Yes, I know I told you I’m allergic to garlic so it’s not often that I’m able to eat lasagna, or anything Italian for that matter.  Only when I make my own sauce, sans garlic.

Lasagna Cupcakes from www.framed-mylifeonepictureatatime.blogspot.com (recipe search)

There have been a couple of different versions of this recipe on her site.  The latest version has all the corrections except one.  If you use a jumbo pan you will have 6 cupcakes with 6 layers each.  If you use a standard cupcake pan you will have 12 cupcakes with 3 layers each.  I went for the standard.

Not wanting to waste the left over wonton wrappers, sauce and cheeses I decided to make a little non-meat version in a 5″x7″ cassarole dish.  And then just to add a little creative zip, I topped it with some Italian basil from the garden.  Waste not, want not.  And I want!

An important step in the recipe is to size the wonton wrappers.  You can use anything round as long as it measures at least the dimension of the top of the cupcake pan cup you are using.  This will ensure the wrapper is the perfect size to slightly “wrap up” the side of the cup so you won’t lose any of your fillings.

The measurements for the layering are NOT the clearest (nor is my photo very clear – sorry).  This is what I did… I used a two finger and thumb pinch of the parmesan and mozzarella cheeses, a teaspoon (from the silverware drawer) of ricotta, a tablespoon (also from the silverware drawer) of the ground beef and another tablespoon of the sauce.  With three layers and an additional sprinkling of cheese on the top this worked out to be the perfect height for the pan.

These are absolutely DELICIOUS!!! 

I took 4 cupcakes fresh from the oven over to a neighbor’s house and their 2- and 4-year-old children gobbled them down.  They loved them!  Mom now wants the recipe so she will always have a home-cooked meal for the kids she can pluck from the frig or freezer.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lasagna Cupcakes

  1. Lula Harp says:

    I just finished assembling a batch of lasagna cupcakes. I’m having the girls over for dinner on Sunday. All I have to do now is pop them in the oven and dinner’s ready.

Leave a Reply

