Meatloaf and Mash Cupcakes

I’m starting the month with a favorite… meatloaf and mashed potatoes.  The original recipe comes from Nigella Lawson which is not surprising.  Having been married to a Brit I’m familiar with Shepherd’s Pie.  This recipe combines the idea of Shepherd’s Pie with the American meatloaf and mashed potatoes.

Meatloaf and Mash Cupcakes from http://www.notquitenigella.com/2008/04/28/

First you need to find a cooking converter so you can get your measurements in tablespoons, ounces and pounds.  The next thing you should know is the flavor of the meatloaf is very British with its Worcestershire and A-1 Steak sauces.  No ketchup or BBQ sauce or bacon to be found anywhere.

Also this recipe has been “health-ified.”  No bread crumbs.  Instead there is sesame seeds, sunflower seeds and quick cooking oats.

NotNigella has you combine all the ingredients in ONE BOWL (yeah!) and press into the cupcake liners.  Even though I used very lean meats I still had a lot of excess grease which had to be patted off the top, seeped through the liners, pooled inside the liners and pulled the greasy liners away from the meatloaf; not a pretty picture.  Next time I make this I will bake the meatloaf directly in the pan and place it in a liner after cooking.  Still need the cuteness factor.

I made my standard mashed potatoes, put them in a piping bag with the star tip and OOPS! the tip clogged up.  Just the tiniest bit of potato blocked the tip.  After fighting with the tip for a while I switched to a round tip and piped the rest.

I didn’t make the little Puff Pastry hearts on top, mainly because I forgot to buy Puff Pastry.

Had one for lunch.  YUM! YUM! YUM!  Can’t wait for dinner…

This is a “lovely” recipe.  I think you can jazz up the meatloaf with different sauces and spices to make it to your liking.  It’s a keeper for the recipe stash!

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Meatloaf and Mash Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Enjoying the theme this month, it is a nice break from all the sweetness of the dessert cupcakes.

  2. frostedbaker says:

    I’m loving the Svory and am so excited for the recipes to come. Hope I’ve given you some ideas for the meat-eating men in your home.

Leave a Reply

