Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Snickerdoodles are my favorite cookie.  I ate them as a child as they were the go-to cookie for my Mom’s generation.  It was the one cookie my Mom baked.  I wonder which of my sister’s has her recipe?  Then these fabulous cookies disappeared from favor for a few decades.  Well, Snickerdoodle cookies have made a comeback!  I’m so excited.  So for Mom…

Snickerdoodle Cupcakes from http://annies-eats.com/2010/11/12

This recipe says it yields 28 cupcake.  But, boy oh boy, its one of the larger batters I’ve made to date.  And yep, it makes 28 cupcakes

The recipe says to fill the liner 2/3 full.  I used one level scoop and the cupcake came out perfect.

It’s a grey day here today with thunderstorms rolling through later this afternoon.  A perfect day for baking.  The cupcakes are baking and the delicious scent of sugar cinnamon baking in the kitchen has my stomach talking to me.  Snickerdoodle Cupcakes, Snickerdoodle Cupcakes…

This is a pretty cupcake, speckled with cinnamon.  It is light and fluffy, just on the borderline for a nice weight for a cupcake.  It was just a tad dry. 

The frosting is a made-from-scratch Fluffy Marshmallow frosting.  I’ve never made marshmallow before and it really is quite easy.  After you’ve piped your frosting you sprinkle with a cinnamon sugar.

The cupcakes sat in an airtight cupcake carrier as I walked the neighborhood passing out cupcakes.  When I arrived home I tried a complete cupcake.  To my surprise the cake was not as dry as when I tried one from the cooling rack.  The frosting was good.  But overall I didn’t think the cake and frosting went well together.  A different frosting will make all the difference and maybe make this cupcake taste more like a Snickerdoodle.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

