Super Moist Chocolate Cupcakes

Today is Part 1 of a two-Parter.  You see, I wanted to make Caramel Pretzels Cupcakes from a recipe I found online.  I love the salty-sweet combination, especially if its more of the salty, which pretzels absolutely do for me.  The recipe directions state “use your favorite chocolate or devil’s food recipe and bake cupcakes.”  Ok… so now I thought, time to pull out a chocolate cupcake recipe I haven’t tested.

Super Moist Chocolate Cupcakes from www.javacupcake.com/2009/02/18   

The first thing you need to know is the batter is extremely liquid-y.  And by that I mean, it RUNS like a glass of chocolate milk.  Don’t freak out, its suppose to be like this.  That’s where the Super Moist comes from.

I had to do a little test baking to get the final product I was looking for.  What I found was its harder scooping a very liquid-y batter than you would think; it keeps dripping out of the scoop.  I used one level scoop of batter, filling the liners only half full rather than the two-thirds full the recipe calls for. 

My cupcakes were fully baked in 16 minutes, so always watch your oven.  The recipe says to bake “until the center of the cupcakes springs back when lightly touched.”  This is extremely important!!!  If you use a tooth pick to test, your cupcake will deflate!  Use the touch method.

This recipe uses a mixture of white and brown sugar, making this chocolate cupcake a little on the sweet side.  You may want to play with the sugar measurements a little.

This is an extremely light and fluffy cupcake!  And I definitely mean light and fluffy.  I found it to be a delicious chocolate cake but far to light in substance for a cupcake.  It just doesn’t hold up well to peeling off the liner and the weight of the frosting.

And for that reason…

cupcakelab rating: the bad

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

