Sour Patch Kids Cupcakes

My avid followers know I’m not into the sweets.  I love the sour!  So when I found this recipe I was excited beyond comprehension!!!  Sour Patch Kids… what more can I say. 

Sour Patch Kids Cupcakes from www.ingreditentsofa20something.com/2011/01/

The post for this recipe is filled with loads of photos and baking anecdotes.  There are links for both the cupcake and frosting recipes.  There is not a lot in the way of measurements when making the “sour patch” frosting.  This is a bummer for me.  I like exact measurements to follow.  Can you say baking geek?

The cupcake recipe is from Smitten Kitchen.  I love her!  Her recipes are always great.  I guess they would have to be, she used to bake in Martha Stewart’s Test Kitchen. 

The cupcake is Best Birthday Cake at http://smittenkitchen.com/2009/07/  The recipe is for a cake and she admits she hasn’t made the recipe in cupcake form.  The recipe is easy to follow but I’ve had to bake a test batch with differing amounts of batter to find the perfect amount to fill the liner.  Also watching the oven so I can figure out the baking time.

I found that two mini scoops of batter worked the best; over the three mini scoops or the ice cream scoop full.  I baked my cupcakes for 16 minutes.  Any longer and they browned on the bottom and around the edges.

While baking my test batch I found the batter was rising, like in bread making, and had to fold the batter a few times to get back to the consistency when it was first mixed.

I like this recipe very much.  It is a nice yellow cake.  It is light and moist, and has a great weight and texture perfect for cupcakes.  You’ll want to keep this one for the recipe stash.

The frosting is Swiss Meringue Buttercream from www.marthastewart.com/353415/swiss-meringue-buttercream

This is my new favorite frosting!  Its made with egg whites, granulated sugar, salt, unsalted butter and vanilla.  No powdered sugar!!!  What I love best about this recipe is that it is NOT a sweet frosting like most buttercream frostings.  It takes a little longer to make but is most definitely worth it.

To make the sour patch frosting you make two batches of the Swiss Meringue Buttercream and divide each in half.  You now have four bowls of frosting.  In each bowl I added 1 tablespoon and 1 teaspoon of the tart and sour flavor enhancer, along with one and a half teaspoons of the flavor extract and a couple of drops of the food coloring gel.  I didn’t go overboard with the tart and sour as my neighborhood is filled with little ones who prefer sweet over sour.

YUM!  YUM!  YUM!  I love these cupcakes.  But then again, I love sour flavors.  They are also the most beautiful cupcakes to serve, with all the pretty colored frostings and cupcake liners; and lets not forget the matching Sour Patch Kids candy.

This is a fabulous cupcake for any kids party.  A must have for the recipe stash!

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sour Patch Kids Cupcakes

  1. stugolfer1 says:

    I think the sour patch cup cake is a cool and interesting recipe.

    Stuart

Leave a Reply

