Root Beer Float Cupcakes

Who doesn’t love a root beer float?  We have an A&W here in town, and every once in a while my next doors neighbors will call to ask me to join them for a run to A&W for root beer floats. 

Root Beer Float Cupcakes from www.foodsnots.com/2011/05

It’s a hot summer day.  In the 90’s.  Not a good thing for me.  I love the cold and I melt in the heat (think the wicked witch of the west from the Wizard of Oz – I’m melting…).  Nothing sounds better right now than a root beer float.

I had started making the batter when I had a major issue.  You see, the directions are in paragraph form.  I hadn’t read the directions, just looked at the ingredients list before I went to the grocery store. 

So… when I got to the section in the recipe about the vanilla extract and root beer I was very confused.  Say what?  Vanilla extract and root beer were not listed in the ingredients.  I went to the blog to double-check.  Lo and behold!  The ingredients were now listed.  I guess that’s what happens when you print the recipe when its first posted.

So off to the store I went, mid-baking, to buy the root beer.

The cupcake is a light, fluffy and moist cake.  It is not sweet like drinking a glass of root beer.  A bit of a surprise to me.  All in all this is a very delicious cupcake.

Then I went on to make the Float Frosting.  It’s make with vanilla ice cream.  You have to have the ice cream to go with the root beer or it wouldn’t be a root beer float.

Unfortunately, I had another problem.  I had no sooner piped the frosting, pulled a cupcake to take a photo and I noticed the frosting melting on all the cupcakes.  So off to the frig they went before there was nothing left.  I guess I’ll refrigerate the frosting next time before piping.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Root Beer Float Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Thank you for leaving a few for me to taste. They were delicious and really took me back to the hot summer days of childhood when we would make a root beer float. Great job!

Leave a Reply

