Orange Creamsicle Cupcakes

The 50/50 Bar.  That lovely combination of orange sherbet and vanilla ice cream on a stick.  I couldn’t wait for the ice cream truck to find our street so I could buy my beloved 50/50 Bar.  Today’s ice cream trucks (well I should say the one in my neighborhood) doesn’t have the 50/50 Bar.  They have ice creams and popsicles I don’t recognize.  Bummer!

Orange Creamsicle Cupcakes from http://ryansbakingblog.com/2010/07/

Today we refer to the 50/50 Bar as the Orange Creamsicle.  What someone calls it is a good indicator of their age – but don’t tell anyone.

The cupcake recipe is a basic vanilla cake with the addition of orange zest.  The “Orange” is found in the “optional” frosting recipe.  I’ll definitely be using this version of frosting to be sure I have the full orange flavor.

The recipe is easy to put together.  Beware!  It only makes 12 cupcakes.

The cupcake is a beautiful, nicely textured and moist cake.  There is a subtle hint of orange to the vanilla cake.  Yum!  And the aroma wafting from the cupcake, vanilla and orange… just sublime.

Adding the frosting has pulled the flavors together, ensuring you have the orange creamsicle flavor of your childhood.  I’m also using Ryan’s suggestion of the white and orange frosting swirl.  This is a first for me.  Not to shabby, if I say so myself.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

