Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

I can’t believe today is the first of August.  It seems like summer just started and now we’re half way through.  August is a big month here in the neighborhood.  It’s a time when we try to squeeze as many gatherings and events in before the kids return to school at the end of the month.

Because there will be so many families sharing good food and good times, I’ve chosen Our Inner Child flavors this month.  Are you wondering what I mean by Our Inner Child?  Well, I’m choosing flavors I loved from my childhood along with flavors the kids love today.

Cookies and Cream Cupcakes from http://annies-eats.net/2010/06/02/

The Oreo cookie.  What a wonderful invention.  You can eat it by shoving the whole cookie in your mouth, you can dunk it in a cold glass of milk each time you take a bite, or, my favorite, you can twist the cookie apart and eat the creamy filling first.  What’s your favorite way to eat a Oreo?

First, coarsely chop a boat load of cookies to add to the batter.  Next, twist the cookies and place half in each liner, filling side up.  At this point I would like to suggest using double-stuffed Oreos.  Some of my cookie halves didn’t have much in the way of the cream filling.

Continue on through the recipe.  Scoop the batter into the liners, on top of the cookie half and bake.

When the cupcakes came out of the oven, the aroma of warm Oreo cookie wafted through the kitchen.  It was intoxicating!  I was thinking “we have a winner here.”

Once the cupcakes cooled I made the frosting, a basic Cream Cheese frosting, and topped it with a mini Oreo (mini Oreos ~ who knew?). 

OMG!!!  These cupcakes are seriously delicious!  These cupcakes have the texture of cake with a slight leaning towards a cookie, with the great little surprise of a Oreo at the bottom.

I think I would maybe add some ground cookie wafer to the frosting next time, just to add a little flavor and so there isn’t such a jarring difference in taste between the cupcake and frosting.

As usual, I passed the cupcakes throughout the neighborhood.  Everyone LOVED them!  In fact, I received a few calls asking if I had anymore – they were looking for more cupcakes.  That was a first.

These cupcakes are great for the kids but I found they are even better for the adults.  Our Inner Child is coming out to play.

A definite for the recipe stash!!!

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cookies and Cream Cupcakes

  1. Nicole says:

    Can’t wait to try this recipe!

Leave a Reply

