Lemon-Limoncello Cupcakes

This is our last day for cocktail cupcakes.  I’m writing this late in the evening as today is my birthday and I was a little sidetracked from writing this post.

Lemon-Limoncello Cupcakes from www.browneyedbaker.com/2009/09/30/

I was not familiar with Limoncello or cocktails using this booze.  I did a little wandering around the net and found that many recipes say you can interchange the Limoncello with Absolut Citron.  Having said Absolute in the cupboard I made Absolut Citron Cupcakes.

The recipe does call for 2 tablespoons of the alcohol in the batter.  A nice change from all those recipes where the alcohol is only found in the frosting.  This recipe also uses cream cheese and buttermilk, just to change things up a bit.

The cupcake has a nice texture with a very subtle hint of lemon and Citron.  It’s a pretty little cupcake.

I did not make the lemon curd and include it in the cupcake.  I did, however, make the frosting as it’s a Cream Cheese Limoncello frosting.  The frosting was also quite nice.

I guess I’m just not that excited about a citrus vodka flavor.  Overall, it’s a good recipe and cupcake, just not my cup of tea.  The neighbors agree.  They liked the cupcake but not enough to ask for it again.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemon-Limoncello Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Hope your birthday was special. The cupcake was a nice little way to celebrate at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

