Rachael Ray’s Lime-Margarita Cupcakes

So… did you hear the one about the killer hornet?  Unbeknownst to me, I was attacked by the little demon and it wasn’t long before my right arm was the size of my thigh (Yikes!), bright red and on fire.  Removal of the stinger and boat loads of medication later, I’m finally able to use my arm again.

It’s back to baking!

Today is National Margarita Day.  Yippee!  My favorite cocktail.  And in honor of this auspicious occasion I’m baking Margarita cupcakes.

Lime-Margarita Cupcakes from www.rachaelraymag.com/recipes/

I was hoping for a margarita cupcake but this recipe is a lime cupcake with margarita buttercream frosting. 

The ingredients for the cupcake and frosting are all-in-one.  So carefully read the recipe directions so you don’t end up putting ingredients for your frosting into your batter.

The recipes calls for baking the cupcakes for 25 minutes.  Watch your oven.  My cupcakes were done at 18 minutes with a golden brown top.  Thank goodness I didn’t set the timer for 25.

This is a beautiful cupcake, a light and fluffy cake with a subtle lime flavor.  I can see this cupcake combined with other frostings flavors, expanding your cupcake repertoire.  De.li.cious!!  But where’s the tequilla? 

So… now I have to make the frosting.

My frosting was a big disappointment.  The texture was runny and grainy.  I had to put it in the frig to stiffen it up so it could be piped. 

I have to say the flavor is fabulous!  Along with the flavor of the tequilla, the lime and salt flavor also came through, and it’s not the least bit sweet.   Yeah!

The recipe needs to be doubled in order to have enough frosting for all the cupcakes; and you can see I didn’t use much frosting on each cupcake.  (Ignore the bright green color.  I had a big burp of food coloring pop out of the bottle.)

It’s definitely a cupcake recipe for the stash.

cupcakelab rating:  the good (for the cupcake)

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rachael Ray’s Lime-Margarita Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    I am so glad to see you back, you were missed. I get my cupcake fix through your blog. This one sounds refreshing and great for a hot summer day. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

