Mojito Cupcakes

Today I’m testing a cocktail favorite of mine.

Mojito Cupcakes with Lime Cream Cheese Frosting from http://twopeasblog.wordpress.com/2010/09/21/

To start with, there is not an ingredients list at the beginning of the recipe.  The ingredients and their quantities are found in paragraph form mixed in with the recipe directions.  I had to carefully read the entire recipe to be sure I had a full ingredients list.

First you make the batter.  It’s a vanilla recipe that includes a tablespoon of rum.  She suggests Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum.  I had Meyer’s Dark Rum in the cupboard, so that’s what I used.

While the cupcakes are baking you make a simple syrup of sugar, water, butter, a 1/4 cup of rum, lime zest and mint leaves.  The fumes coming from the syrup were enough to make me one happy camper. 

As soon as the cupcakes come out of the oven, you brush the syrup on the hot cupcakes.  I made only half a batch of the syrup and had more than enough for a full batch of cupcakes, and they were well soaked in the syrup.  Yeah!

The cupcake tastes out of this world at this point.  YUM!  YUM!  YUM!

I made the frosting and found it to be very thin, even after doctoring it up by adding more cream cheese and adding some butter.  Even so, I only had enough for 14 cupcakes.  I would use my standard Cream Cheese Frosting recipe and then add the green food coloring and lime zest.  I think this would be a much better frosting.

Overall, this is a great cupcake and I would definitely put it in your recipe stash.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

In the photo you can see two cupcake liners.  I baked the cupcakes and then added the syrup.  This made the liners extremely sticky so I placed them in another liner.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mojito Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    The cupcakes sound great!! They would make a nice summer picnic cupcake, or a refreshing BBQ dessert. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

