Coffee Chocolate Cupcakes

This month I’m celebrating my birthday (another number I’d rather not think about), along with my friend Maria.   So my choice of flavor profile is Cocktail Cupcakes.  Yep!  That’s a month-long exploration of cupcakes that contain BOOZE.  Don’t even ask how much I spent at the liquor store.

Happy 4th of July to all!  I hope you are enjoying your time with family and friends.  And let’s not forget our military men and women, especially those serving in-country.  May you be safe today, on our celebration of the freedom you fight so bravely for. 

Tonight our neighborhood will gather together in our front yards to watch the fireworks across the valley (that’s a valley at nearly 5,000 ft.).  Fireworks are legal here, so we will enjoy hours color and light filled skies.  At 10:30pm the Fairgrounds fireworks display will begin (yes, the sun goes down late up here).  So with that in mind I decided to go non-traditional and make cupcakes that will keep us going for hours and will go with the S’mores the kids will be making.  It’s also why you’re hearing from me so late in the day.  I’m baking as the day is cooling down.

Coffee Chocolate Cupcakes from http://www.cosmopolitan.com/advice/tips/alcohol-cupcakes-recipes from The Boozy Baker: 75 Recipes for Spirited Sweets by Lucy Baker

The recipe starts with a Simple Vanilla Cupcake batter which you tweak depending upon the cocktail cupcake you are making.

This batter substitutes some of the flour for cocoa powder and half of the vanilla extract for Kahlua.  I think you could actually add another teaspoon of the Kahlua.

The cupcake is a pretty milk chocolate cupcake.  It’s a little heavier in texture but, all in all, it’s a delicious chocolate cupcake.  Once you add the incredible Kahlua Buttercream frosting the whole cupcake is a delight!  I added a dusting of espresso and cocoa powders.  YUM!

I won’t be bringing any cupcakes home as these will be gobbled up quickly.  I just hope I have enough to go around.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Maria says:

    Happy Birthday month to you too. These sound delicious, and your 4th sounded perfect.

  2. Nicole says:

    That cupcake looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

