Martha’s German Chocolate Cupcakes

Well, the storm has moved through, my baking frustrations have subsided and it’s time to try baking German Chocolate Cupcakes again.

German Chocolate Cupcakes from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook

Martha has a few differences in her recipe.  She uses cake flour, adds an extra ounce of chocolate (It’s A Good Thing), uses buttermilk like the original recipe and the way the recipe is put together is like the original recipe and most cupcake recipes.

Eureka!  We have cupcakes!  And they are delicious.  They are light, fluffy and moist.  Maybe a little too fluffy for me.  I may use all-purpose flour instead of the cake flour next time and see how that works for me.

This is the recipe for your stash.

Because it was my neighbor’s birthday I decided to continue on with Martha’s Coconut-Pecan Frosting.  Here again I had trouble.  I found the sauce too thin.  The recipe says it should be the consistency of sour cream.  Even after adding many tablespoons of corn starch to thicken the sauce, it still wasn’t up to my liking.  I ended up doubling the amount of coconut and pecans.  As you can see in the photo, it’s still a little thin.  And this was after a very long cooling time.

Even with the changes, I decided to follow Krystina Castella’s recipe by piping a ring of Chocolate frosting around the cupcake and filling the center with the Coconut-Pecan frosting. 

They’re a pretty cupcake and quite tasty!  I ate this cupcake after taking the photo and licked every last bit off my fingers.  I would absolutely make these cupcakes again.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

