Banana Chocolate Cupcakes

I love the combination of bananas and chocolate, especially in a milk shake.  So I’m looking forward to today’s recipe choice.

Banana Chocolate Cupcakes from http://tidymom.net/banana-buster-brown-cupcakes

Tidy Mom sources this recipe from the Joy of Cooking.  She also reflected the measurements in grams, if you’re inclined to weigh your ingredients.  This recipe makes 12 cupcakes, or so says the recipe.  I was able to make 18 cupcakes; and I don’t think the extra 1/4 cup of bananas made this big of a difference.  But all is good ~ more cupcakes to share.

Instead of milk (or other liquid, i.e. beer, wine; well, you get what I mean) and butter, this recipe calls for warm water, milk and oil.  It’s just a little different for me with the warm water.

The batter is VERY thin, even though I used 3/4 cup of bananas instead of 1/2 cup the recipe calls for (I just couldn’t waste the bananas), and I was worried about the cupcakes’ texture.  Sometimes with thin batters your cupcakes are just too light and fluffy; it’s better for a cake.

The cupcakes are a beautiful dark chocolate.  The aroma of chocolate is in the forefront but a hint of the banana is delightful.  I’m especially enjoying the banana!  Just a few of the cupcakes have sunken a little.  I think that possibly there was a little more banana in those, which caused the sink-age.

The cupcake is very light, moist and fluffy.  For me it’s a little heavy on the chocolate flavor.  I would like more of the banana flavor to shine through.  But overall, this is a very nice cupcake.

The recipe includes a Peanut Butter Brown Sugar Buttercream which sounds divine.  I love peanut butter, especially extra chunky.  I’ll have to take some time to make this frosting.  It’s just too enticing not to.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

