Chocolate Red-Wine Cupcakes

This is for my friend Terri’s belated 50th birthday.  She loves red wine and suggested the chocolate red wine cupcake idea.  So here’s to you…

Chocolate Red-Wine Cupcakes from www.rachelraymag.com/recipes/

Rachel suggests you use a medium- to full-bodied red wine, such as Cannonau.  I’m not much of a wine drinker so I don’t know anything about wine.  But my friend Carol was in town and picked up a bottle of red wine which I still have.  Its Cupcake Vineyards ‘Red Velvet’ wine.

Yep!  Cupcake Vineyards.  How perfect is that?  Cupcake Vineyards is a California wine and the label says ” This wine shows a heady nose of chocolate, deep rich blackberries, red fruits, and a creamy mocha finish that is unmistakable in it intensity and length.  It’s reminiscent of a blackberry chocolate cupcake with a mocha coulis.”  Wow!

I’m excited already and I’ve only read the wine bottle.

This recipe has you mix the chocolate, cocoa powder and boiling water in a bowl, making a rich chocolate bowl of delight.  It smells heavenly.  And it made the most incredible batter!

These cupcakes are beautifully moist and the perfect velvety chocolate cupcakes.  They are more milk chocolate in color than I thought but absolutely delicious.  OMG!  They are so rich and flavorful they can stand on their own as a decadent dessert.  I can only image the outcome once Rachel’s mascarpone frosting is added.

This is a keeper!  And a must have for the recipe stash.

This recipe made 32 cupcakes, so I delivered to more neighbors than usual.  These cupcakes were a HUGE hit with everyone.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Red-Wine Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Wow, they sound amazing, look amazing and I must try this recipe. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  2. Maria says:

    Oh my goodness. Thank Terri for turning 50! Chocolate and red wine, two of my favorites. These might be the ones for the camping trip next week! How do you think they will hold up if not refridgerated?

Leave a Reply

