Magnolia’s Chocolate Cupcakes

I’m back after a short hiatus.  I’ve missed you… and am glad to be writing again.  Today is another attempt at a chocolate cupcake.  I’m on the hunt for what I think is the perfect chocolate cupcake.  This recipe gets rave reviews so…

Magnolia’s Chocolate Cupcakes from the blog Sea Salt with Food 01/2010

The batter is beautiful and has the perfect consistency – not too thin and not thick.  You use melted chocolate rather than cocoa powder.  The batter is milk chocolate in color rather than dark chocolate with the cocoa.  I might try adding cocoa powder for a darker color.

The recipe says to bake for 20 to 25 minutes.  I baked for 18 minutes and as you can see in my photo the cupcakes were a big flop.  Or maybe I should say “a big sunk”. 

What a disaster!  And I had such high hopes.  I followed the directions exactly and even went to the blog to check the comments.  Also checked other sites with the recipe and all the recipes are the same.  No where did I find that anyone had a problem with this recipe.

I don’t know what went wrong but I’m bummed… big time!  And I was so excited about this recipe.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Magnolia’s Chocolate Cupcakes

  1. Maria says:

    missed you too…I’m trying to decide on the perfect cupcake (or other dessert) for a camping trip…so I’m awaiting that “perfect” recipe to surface!

Leave a Reply

