Georgetown Cupcakes’ Chocolate Ganache Cupcakes

This month I will be celebrating my grandson Drake’s 5th birthday, my step-daughter Paula’s Big Four-Oh and my friend Carol’s (no number being mentioned) birthday.  The flavor this month is their favorite: Chocolate.  I will test a couple of chocolate recipes but I plan to spend most of the month with what I’m calling Chocolate – Plus.  That would be chocolate plus other ingredients like red wine (to celebrate Terri’s belated 50th), cookie dough, peanut butter… well you get the idea.  Now on to today’s recipe.

Chocolate Ganache Cupcakes from http://projects.washingtonpost.com/recipes/2008/11/05

The recipe calls for Valrhona cocoa powder and Callebaut chocolate; both are sold at Sur La Table and at many online stores.  Lucky me, I have both in my cupboard ~ I love buying the expensive, good quality ingredients.  I mean, if you’re going to take the time to make beautiful cupcakes you should be sure to use the best ingredients.  Makes it worth your effort and is so enjoyable to eat.

Let’s talk batter.  I’m not one of those who eats raw cookie dough.  I know many of you do.  I just never understood the joy of it.  This batter smelled so heavenly I just had to try a taste.  The batter was delicious.  OK!  I get it now.   

A quick note… this recipe only makes 18 cupcakes.  Bummer!  Now I have to increase the recipe to get those 2 dozen cupcakes.

Chocolate… hmm!  The house is filled with the smell of rich chocolate.

OMG!  This cupcake is scrumptious!!!  It is light and fluffy, not too fluffy, and has the most velvety, rich chocolate flavor.  Even for someone like me who is not a big fan of chocolate I’m skipping with delight for this cupcake.

Yep, I’m off to the neighbors.  I’ve eaten one cupcake and now they need to leave my house before I start working my way through the rest.

This recipe is a definite for the stash.

cupcakelab rating: the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

