Oatmeal Raisin Cupcakes

I’m hoping third time’s a charm.  Again, I’m trying oatmeal raisin because… darn, I have to find a good recipe.

Oatmeal Raisin Cupcakes from Krystina Castella’s Crazy About Cupcakes cookbook

You will need all spice and cloves in addition to the cinnamon and the mixing time is a little longer than most recipes.  Otherwise, the recipe is fairly straight forward.  But it only makes 20 cupcakes.

The kitchen smells wonderful and I’m feeling quite optimistic at the moment.

Eureka!!!  The cupcakes look perfect, just like an oatmeal cookie.  They’re brown, thanks to the sprinkle of brown sugar on top of the batter before baking, with a hint of crisp to the edge.

The cupcake is moist and light.  And oh so delicious!!!  I’ve finally found the perfect recipe.  Yep!  Third time is a charm. 

The cupcakes have the right balance of oats and raisins, and are not overwhelmed by the raisins; you only use 2/3 of a cup.  Wondering how many of these little babies I’ll share with the neighbors and how many I’ll keep.

An extra note: you’ll want to use a liner where the batter won’t bleed through.  I used liners from the craft store and the butter seeped into the liner.  Check out my photo.  You can’t even tell what a beautiful spring liner it was.

This is an absolute for the recipe stash.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

Post Update:  I baked the cupcakes and wrote this post last night.  I just tried another cupcake and they taste exactly like an oatmeal raisin cookie!  This is the definitive recipe for Oatmeal Raisin Cupcakes.  Great job Krystina!  If you’re not fond of raisins try substituting chocolate chips.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Oatmeal Raisin Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Looks absolutely delicious!! Do you think the recipe would be the same without the raisins? Not a huge fan of cooked raisins, but I like everyone loves a delicious crunchy oatmeal cookie. Glad 3rd time was the charm. Congrats!!

  2. frostedbaker says:

    Absolutely you can omit the raisins. You could even substitute chocolate chips. Let me know how your cupcakes turn out.

  3. honeybee77 says:

    these were fantastic, almost like a muffin, moist and not too sweet.

Leave a Reply

