Oatmeal Raisin Cupcakes

My previous attempt at an oatmeal breakfast cupcake did not bode well.  Today’s recipe is another attempt.  I’m bound and determined to find a great oatmeal breakfast cupcake!

Oatmeal Raisin Cupcakes from www.cupcakeproject.com/2008/09

This recipe calls for honey vinegar.  I’ve never heard of such a thing.  Is this something new or am I behind in my baking knowledge?  It states you can substitute apple cider vinegar.  Whew!  That I have.  Surprise of all surprises… you need 1/2 cup of the vinegar!

Yes!  The batter has an overwhelming vinegar smell.  So much so that if you spend too much time over the bowl your eyes start to water.  My photo shows that once the vinegar is added everything separated and the butter looked like cottage cheese.

I did go to the website and double-check the measurement.  I also read all the comments and no one had any problems.  So the cupcakes are in the oven.  Fingers crossed.

Coming out of the oven there is still of hint of vinegar to the cupcakes.  They look okay; not what I expected from an oatmeal raisin cupcake.  I guess my brain is wrapped around a slightly crispy oatmeal cookie. 

These cupcakes are extremely moist.  The sweetness of the raisins overwhelms all other flavors in the cupcake.  Too bad.  I was hoping for more of an oatmeal flavor and texture.

Overall it’s just an ok cupcake.  Definitely not my cup of tea.  I’ll continue on my hunt for an Oatmeal Cupcake.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

