Chocolate-Oatmeal Cupcakes with Maple-Bacon Butter Cream

I’m continuing on my journey through breakfast cupcakes.  Todays recipe caught my eye, I think because it reminded me of my favorite “Breakfast Cookies” from Confessions of a Cookbook Queen.

Chocolate-Oatmeal Cupcake with Maple-Bacon Butter Cream from http://erincooks.com/bacon-cupcakes

This recipe was a complete and utter disaster for me!

I know I measured correctly.  I went to Erin’s site and read the 34 comments on this recipe, and not one commenter had tried the recipe.  Could the measurements be incorrect?

As you can see from my photo, the cupcakes sank in the middle (all the way to the bottom of the pan) and were caramelized onto the cupcake pan.  Coming from the oven, all you could smell was baked, almost burnt, sugar.

The recipe calls for baking the cupcakes for 30 minutes.  I baked mine for 18 and this was the outcome… over baked!

I would absolutely leave the chocolate out, and increase the amount of oatmeal.  But most importantly… the amount of sugar vs. flour needs to be addressed.

I took one bite and decided to toss the entire batch.  Unfortunately, I first had to scrape the caramelized cupcake top off the pan just to get to the cupcakes.

Big huge disappointment!

cupcakelab rating: the ugly

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate-Oatmeal Cupcakes with Maple-Bacon Butter Cream

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Bummer!! When I saw the name of the recipe, I started to drool…all my favorites too, oatmeal, chocolate, bacon and maple flavor. How disappointing!! Can’t wait to see what you are baking next.

  2. frostedbaker says:

    I agree with you… the flavors make me drool. I think I will try to rework the recipe and see if I can come up with a good cupcake.

Leave a Reply

