Key Lime Cupcakes

I’m continuing with the Key Lime flavor today.  As much as I love Key Lime, I’ll be moving on to a new fruit flavor in my next post.  The month is getting away from me and there are so many fruits still out there to try.

This recipe intrigued me with its graham cracker crust.  I’m thinking I’ll call this recipe Key Lime Pie Cupcakes.

Key Lime Cupcakes from www.gigglemag.com

Let me just preface this post with… my fingers are crossed that I made this recipe correctly.  I’m sure I measured all the ingredients as the recipe calls for but the outcome is making me question what I’ve done.  So here are the steps…

First, you make a graham cracker crust and place it in the bottom of the cupcake liner.  I didn’t have regular graham crackers but did have a package of chocolate graham crackers left from a precious baking project.  So chocolate graham cracker crust it is.  The recipe says 1 to 1-1/2 tablespoons of the crust.  I used 1 tbsp. and found it to be the right amount.

Next you make the batter.  My batter was the runniest batter I’ve ever made or seen.  It was pure liquid.  I was more than worried at this point but pushed on.  

The recipe has you fill the liner 3/4 full, which I did.  Then bake for 12-13 minutes.  12-13 minutes?  Really?

I had to add 5 minutes to the baking time in order for the cupcakes to completely bake.  And, the cupcake didn’t bake any higher than the 3/4s of the liner, making a very short cupcake.  Bummer!

The flavor is delicious.  The cupcake is light and airy, and very moist.  And its the prettiest little green cupcake.  Yum!  Just so darn short!

If I made this recipe correctly, then I would describe the outcome more similar to pie than a cupcake.  I will make this recipe again, and if the batter results are the same, then I will fill the liner completely with batter… making a standard size cupcake.  Fingers crossed.

I hope you enjoy these cupcakes as much as I did.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

