Key Lime Cupcakes

Happy Easter everyone!  I hope you found your basket full of goodies and all the hidden eggs in the yard.  Wishing you joy today with your family and friends!

Today I’m making another family favorite: Key Lime.

Key Lime Cupcakes from www.bonappetit.com (recipe from September 2008)

This recipe was submitted by Buttersweet Bakery in Atlanta and is widely posted around the net.  I found it at Make It Do, Epicurious and My Madison Bistro Recipes (who uses cake flour instead of all purpose).  I hate when this happens as I was looking forward to baking many Key Lime cupcake recipes. 

This recipes only makes 12 cupcakes.  It also says to “spoon a scant 1/3 cup batter into each liner”.  Depending on the brand of liners you use, your cupcakes will either be too short in the liner or just right.  I suggest a test bake.

The recipe also calls for neon green food coloring.  I was lucky… for some strange reason I bought neon food coloring with a Michael’s coupon “just because” so I had the neon color.  I used the 1/4 teaspoon but as you can see from my photo my batter is yellow not neon green.  I wasn’t the only one with this problem.  Definitely add more coloring to get that bright green color of lime.

The Key Lime aroma coming from the oven is calling my name.  I can’t wait to taste.

Well, the wait was worth it.  This cupcake is simply delicious and full of key lime flavor.  The cupcake is a little heavier in weight but by no means is it dense or dry.  I love all the lime zest found in the cupcake. 

I’m loving this cupcake!  If you like lime, key lime or citrus flavors, this is a must try recipe.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Key Lime Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Happy Easter,
    Wow, I am excited to try this cupcake. I love, love, love Key Lime, but haven’t had a Key Lime cupcake, can’t wait.
    Thanks for the trial and review!

Leave a Reply

