Martha’s Blueberries-and-Cream Cupcakes

I love blueberries.  I love them in any form you can find them… fresh, frozen, preserves, liqueur… well, you get the idea.  I take after my Dad in that respect.  He was the original lover of blueberries in our family.  His favorite being Chambord Blueberry Preserves, which he ate for dessert slathered over pumpernickel bread with butter.  And yes,  I love that for dessert too but my backside can’t take it these days.

Blueberries-and-Cream Cupcakes from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook

A small container of blueberries equals one cup.  The recipe calls for 2 cups of blueberries plus extra for decorating.  I’m not sure where my brain was while grocery shopping and I came home with the small container.  So, I had to halve the recipe.

The batter has a nice consistency making the cupcakes moist, fluffy and light.  A nice surprise, as some of Martha’s recipes I’ve tried have been too dense for me. 

This is a seriously delicious cupcake!   So good that I ate a whole cupcake and have saved one for tomorrow.  The rest are heading out the door to the neighbors before I change my mind about giving them away and keep them all for myself.

I had some batter left at the bottom of the bowl that didn’t have any blueberries.  I made the cupcake anyway and boy am I glad I did.  I found out this recipe is a great Vanilla Cupcake recipe (when not including the fruit).  Yep!  I ate that cupcake too.  And for those of you counting, that’s two cupcakes with another stashed for tomorrow. 

I recommend this recipe as a great basic for other fresh fruit cupcakes and you should have it in your recipe stash. 

Go Martha!

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

