Cherry-Almond Vanilla Cupcakes

I love cherry and almond, especially if it includes chocolate.  It reminds me of the beautiful pastries and desserts you find in those little out-of-the-way places in the German countryside.  Since I’m only testing fruit recipes this month we’ll have to save the chocolate for another time.

Cherry-Almond Vanilla Cupcakes from Better Home & Gardens magazine special interest issue on Cupcakes, Spring 2011

The batter is pink and the consistency is just perfect.  My fingers are crossed that it will bake light and fluffy cupcakes. 

Well, I wasn’t wrong.  The cupcake is light and fluffy, sweet and moist.  It is also a pretty little pink cupcake. 

The nice surprise with this recipe is that after you put the batter in the liners, you place a cherry half way into the batter before baking.  I’m not usually a fan of maraschino cherries, except in cocktails, but the cherry actually balances the sweet flavor of the cupcake.  Personally, I would probably skip the cherry in the middle in future bakings, but that’s just me.

It’s important to only half fill your liners before adding the cherry.  Otherwise, if you fill the liner two-thirds as the recipe calls for the cupcakes bake over the top of the cupcake pan, leaving you a crispy edge to the cupcake.

I like this cupcake and think you will enjoy it too.  I think I might try this cupcake with a chocolate almond frosting, less the cherry in the middle, and pretend I’m sitting in a German pastry shop.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

Post Update:  Its agreed all around: the cupcake is good but the maraschino cherry in the middle is a bust.  My recommendation is to bake the cupcake without the cherry inside.  Just put the cherry on top.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

