Lemon Basil Cupcakes

This recipe has people saying “what kind of cupcake?”.  Yep!  Lemon Basil.  It makes me think of Italian desserts.  It makes me want to try making other fantastical desserts with lemon and basil.  Can you tell spring is in the air and I’m thinking about light, fresh flavors.  Or maybe it has something to do with my recent trip to Southern California with its beaches and sunshine; and my grandbabies.

Lemon Basil Cupcakes from www.tasteofhome.com

First I made the syrup: water, sugar, lemon peel and fresh basil leaves.  It smells divine.  I think this is what started my brain on its trip to sorbet, cocktails, and anything else I can mix this syrup in.

I don’t make frostings for this blog and wanted to be sure to try the syrup.  So when I took the cupcakes out of the oven I brushed the syrup on the warm cupcakes.  After the cupcakes cooled I filled some with lemon curd and didn’t fill others.  For me the lemon curd is too sweet and it overpowered the cupcake.  I prefer the less sweet cupcake version.  Maybe I’ll make my own lemon curd and that way I can cut the some of sugar and tart up the curd.

This is a wonderful cupcake and I will be making the full recipe, including the frosting with lemon basil syrup.  Can’t wait to taste all those lovely flavors together!

cupcakelab rating:  the good

Post Update:  I couldn’t resist making a batch of these cupcakes.  I used this cupcake recipe made with a Lemon Basil Syrup and Lemon Cream Cheese frosting.  I didn’t use the Lemon Mousse Frosting in the recipe.  This is a frosting recipe I threw together.  If you are a fan of lemon, this cupcake is to die for!

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Lemon Basil Cupcakes

  1. Maria says:

    I’m one of the lucky ones who tasted the final cupcake product – frosting and all!
    It’s everything Frostedbaker says….and more!

  2. Celia says:

    Amen! Possibly my favorite cupcake of yours I’ve tried so far. Gotta love baking neighbors!

  3. frostedbaker says:

    Thank you so much for all your positive support. Look for my cupcakes coming your way.

  4. CamiO says:

    I made this cupcake as an end to summer and really enjoyed it! The basil in the frosting is wonderful (I used the mousse frosting recipe)! I did use Martha Stewart’s recipe for the lemon curd because I couldn’t find it at the little grocery store near my house and thought it was good, but I like sweets. Everyone loved it and I will definitely keep the recipe in my recipe box!

  5. Kayla says:

    Would you be alright with sharing how you made the cream cheese frosting? I’m thinking of making these for our wedding and I know the mouse will not hold up. Your cream cheese idea sounds perfect!

    Thanks,
    Kayla

    • frostedbaker says:

      Kayla ~ Thanks for your comment. As for the Cream Cheese Frosting, I use 6 tbsp of unsalted butter, 8 oz. bar of cream cheese, 3 cups of powdered sugar (maybe 3-1/2 if you like it a little sweeter), 1/2 tsp of pure vanilla extract, and 1/2 cup of freshly grated lemon zest (4-6 lemons, depending on size). I don’t, but some add yellow food coloring to make the frosting yellow. I hope this helps you! And enjoy these delicious cupcakes at your wedding!!!

Leave a Reply

