Triple-Citrus Cupcakes

What a wonderful way to start the week.  A cupcake with lemon, lime and orange.  My lips are puckering just thinking about it.  Thanks Martha for another great flavor profile.

Triple-Citrus Cupcakes from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook

Let’s talk ingredients:  three lemons, three limes, two oranges, four sticks of butter, nine eggs…  this is a recipe unlike anything I’ve ever seen.  Thank goodness I just bought two cartons of eggs.  Unfortunately, I now have to head back to the store for more eggs so I can continue baking.

The recipe says it yields 36 cupcakes which it does.  I should have made half a batch but with 4 1/2 eggs I’m now rethinking…  I should have 1/3 the recipe.

The batter is yellow.  Finally.  Must be from those four sticks of butter.  It does have a nice amount of citrus zest, particularly since there isn’t any juice in the batter.  Nor is there any baking soda or baking powder.  That’s a first for me.

The cupcake has a nice flavor from the triple-citrus zest but I found the cupcake to be too heavy for me and a tad dry.  Sorry Martha.  Again the recipe is not for me.

cupcakelab rating:  the ugly

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

