Lemon Ricotta Cupcakes

My plan for April was to celebrate my friend Terri’s BIG 50 by baking with two of her favorites: dark chocolate and red wine (or with any wine).  After all the beer, whiskey and Irish cream cupcakes baked and consumed in March I need to lighten things up.  So sorry Terri.  We’ll find another way to celebrate.

So… the flavor choice for April will be fruit.  I’m starting with my favorite: citrus, and in particular, lemon.  Be sure to check back all month as I plan to try as many fruits as I can find recipes for; although I’ll probably be heavy on the lemon.

Lemon Ricotta Cupcakes from http://thefrostedcupcakes.blogspot.com

Make sure you read the recipe.  It calls for melted butter and I forgot and had to start over.  In addition, the recipe calls for lemon extract which I wasn’t expecting and I had to run out to the store to get some.  Silly me, I thought the lemon flavor came from the juice and zest.

I zested and juiced the lemons.  My drug of choice: the lovely, sweet, fresh scent of lemons. 

The recipe says “the dough should be smooth and silky”.  Don’t know what I did but my batter does not look like that.  It is a dough… and its dense.  Fingers crossed that the cupcakes bake alright because if they don’t I’m going to be so disappointed!

I was surprised to see a white cake.  I guess I was distracted by the yellow liners in the photo included with the recipe.  The cupcake has a nice lemon flavor; I would prefer if it had more.  It has a nice weight but I find it to be a tad doughy in texture.

The overall look and texture is of a biscuit.  I’m not fond of it and am so disappointed.  I took one bite and then threw all the cupcakes in the trash.  The only bonus is my kitchen smells of lemon.

cupcakelab rating:  the ugly

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lemon Ricotta Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    It’s okay…. we will celebrate with chocolate and wine another time. I love the fruit and citrus, so it’s all good. I am so disappointed that these weren’t good. Can’t wait to see what recipes you find and bake. Happy baking!!

Leave a Reply

