Irish Coffee Cake Cupcakes

I found a site that had “St. Patrick’s Day recipes: A Taste of Ireland”.  I was intrigued.  The recipes included cakes that called for whiskey coffee syrup to be poured over the cake.  You know how much I like the coffee and whiskey to be combined in the cupcake; not just found in the frosting.  So today I chose one of the four recipes listed.

Irish Coffee Cake from www.sheknows.com

The recipe is for a single layer 8″ inch round cake.  The recipe looked perfect for making into cupcakes.  At least I had hoped so!

The batter is interesting, with very few ingredients, and is very grainy in appearance.  The only liquid is coffee.

Coming out of the oven I found the cupcake to be very airy and light.  I was surprised at first and thought maybe I made a mistake in trying to make this recipe into cupcakes.  Then I made the coffee Irish whiskey syrup.  Beware:  The whiskey fumes could clear your sinuses.

Holy Irish Coffee Batman!

After cooling the cupcakes, you pour the hot Irish coffee syrup over the cupcakes.  The airy texture (oh, now I understand) of the cupcake makes it easy for the syrup to soak into the cake. 

I used the amount called for in the recipe and as you can see in the photo, the whiskey coffee syrup soaked the cupcake and is pooling in the bottom of the liner.  If you could suck the syrup out of the cupcake, you’d end up being tipsy.  Well, I definitely would be.  Make sure you eat something before you try this cupcake and be prepared to show your ID. 

My suggestion for the future is to cut back dramatically on the amount of syrup you pour over the cupcakes; I’m thinking about 1 to 2 tablespoons at the most.  The cupcake as it is now is far too overpowering and liquidy.  Using less syrup would greatly improve the outcome of the cupcake. 

It is a delicious cake and a very boozy cupcake.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

Post Update:  The recipe was rated the bad as I am not a big drinker.  For those of you who love your cocktails, you’ll love this cupcake. 

Another Update:  Just heard from my neighbors and they enjoyed the cupcakes.  In fact, they ate them all in one sitting.  I’ll have to check on them tomorrow morning to see how slow they’re moving.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

