Irish Coffee Cupcakes

It has been a couple of days since I’ve baked.  It’s nice to be back.  Today I’m continuing with my testing of Irish Coffee recipes.  I chose today’s recipe because it contained both coffee and Irish whiskey in the batter recipe, just what I want in an Irish Coffee cupcake.

Irish Coffee Cupcakes from www.mixingbowl.com who sourced it from Blissful Bites

The first thing you need to know is this recipe contains coffee grounds in the batter.  I ground my coffee for the longest time to make the grounds were finely- and well-ground. 

Yep!  Those dark speckles are coffee grounds.  As someone who is not particularly fond of drinking coffee, the idea of grounds in my batter is freaking me out.

While scooping the batter into the liners, I found the aroma of coffee to be very prevalent.  With only one tablespoon of Irish whiskey, it does not have a hint of the whiskey.  I think I agree with Kay at kayotic, if you’re going to use whiskey you should be able to taste and smell the flavor.

If you  prefer to make coffee cupcakes, with only 1 tablespoon of Irish whiskey, you could eliminate this or replace it with an additional tablespoon of coffee or milk, depending on your preference.

Coming out of the oven, the cupcakes have a very distinct aroma of strong coffee.

This cupcake is very light and fluffy.  It tastes quite delicious.  I’m surprised.  The coffee flavor does not overwhelm the taste.  Instead it is a sweet coffee cupcake.  Yum!  You do not find the Irish whiskey in the flavor.  Bummer!

I would definitely make this cupcake again, removing the whiskey and calling it a coffee cupcake.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Irish Coffee Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    I love your reviews and the honesty. I don’t think I would have been brave enough to try a recipe with coffee grounds. That is a very interesting ingredient. But they look delicious. I may have to give them a try.

  2. frostedbaker says:

    The cupcakes are delicious. I’ll be making them again, replacing the whiskey with coffee, and top the whole thing with chocolate coffee buttercream and maybe a drizzle of caramel. Yum!

Leave a Reply

