Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY

Today I went for the whole works… from batter to frosting ~ the Irish Car Bomb cupcake.  It’s St. Paddy’s Day and to celebrate, I’m sending cupcakes around the neighborhood; can’t eat the whole batch or you’d find me in a heap on my kitchen floor in a sugar coma. 

I’m so excited.  I’ve been looking forward to this all month.

For the cupcake, I used Big City, Little Kitchen’s Beer Cupcakes! recipe.  For the Whiskey Ganache and Irish Cream Buttercream, I used Smitten Kitchen’s Chocolate Whiskey and Beer Cupcakes recipe.  I wanted each layer to have its distinct flavor:  Guinness, Jameson’s Irish Whiskey and Bailey’s Irish Cream.

My house smells so amazing!  My dog Oliver, who can’t stand the smell of sugar, has beat it outside for some fresh air and is laying on the grass covered in snowflakes (yep it’s snowing).  He’ll be back in a couple of hours when he gets cold and is sure the aroma is gone.  My other dog Harley is lying on the kitchen floor in hopes of finding a cupcake coming his way.

We all know you have to taste along the way…  Tasted the cupcake just out of the oven.  So good!  Then tasted it after I filled the cupcake with the whiskey ganache.  OMG!  So delicious and decadent, especially if you’re a chocolate lover.  And last but not least, tasted the cupcake after adding the Irish Cream buttercream.  This is one seriously outrageous mouthful of dessert perfection!!! 

Can you tell I love this cupcake?  We just won’t think about the calories I’ve “tasted” today.

What can I say… YUM!  YUM!  YUM!  You still have time to bake these cupcakes today to celebrate the Irish in all of us. 

 Cheers to finding the Craic.  Erin Go Braugh.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

Side Note:  I received a gift of these beautiful (and expensive) green cupcake liners.  They are from Sur La Table.  I’m so disappointed.  The chocolate cake bled through the liners.  So much for bright green liners for St. Paddy’s Day.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Irish Car Bomb Cupcakes

  1. paer says:

    They look delicious. Wish I could be your tester!

  2. frostedbaker says:

    If you were my neighbor you’d have a platter full of these.

  3. Maria says:

    Any Irish coffee to sip alongside?

Leave a Reply

