Martha’s Stout Cupcakes

Martha, Martha, Martha.  Your recipe is freaking me out but I’m baking it anyway.  So…

Stout Cupcakes from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook 

Although Martha calls this recipe Stout Cupcakes, she explains stout beer is often used in English and Irish recipes for spice cakes.  As I thought… it’s not looking like a stout cupcake recipe.

The recipe looks and smells like a gingerbread or spice batter.  Martha includes molasses, cinnamon, nutmeg, and orange zest (orange zest in a stout batter?) in this recipe.  She also uses vegetable oil rather than butter.  I prefer butter as it gives the cake a richer flavor.

My house smells amazing as the cupcakes bake; the scent of nutmeg and cinnamon hanging in the air.  Lucky for me, it’s still winter here.  Although the sun is out, there is a chill in the air and some snow on the ground.  Guess that makes it a good day for spice cake.

The cupcake is moist yet dry; I know, but it happens.  Frosting would most definitely help.  There is a nice density to the cake. It also has a nice flavor, even though I don’t find the stout.  The flavor is overshadowed by the taste of the molasses and spices.  Maybe increasing the amount of stout will help with the moistness and stout flavor.

As I suspected, this recipe should be referred to as a Spiced Stout Cupcake.  I think it would be better suited for the fall or Christmas baking, NOT if you are looking to bake a stout cupcake for St. Patrick’s Day.

Martha, Martha, Martha… I’m disappointed and will now have to test bake all your recipes to see if the recipe title matches the taste.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

Post Update:  I gave this recipe the rating of “the bad” for calling itself a stout cupcake.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Martha’s Stout Cupcakes

  1. Had the same reaction after baking these the other day. Except, my fault for failing to the read the part about using stout in spice cakes 😦 Don’t even get me started on the frosting. I’m just an amateur baker but this recipe requires a major re-do.

Leave a Reply

