Kate’s Beer Geek Chocolate Cupcake

This is an adaptation of the Big City, Little Kitchen’s recipe.  She made some great stout suggestions if you don’t wish to use Guinness. 

 Kate’s Beer Geek Chocolate Cupcake from http://thebrooklynkitchen.wordpress.com

By adaptation, I mean she added espresso powder.  That is why I chose to bake this recipe.  I wanted to taste the difference with and without the espresso powder; as you remember, I “happy dance” loved the original recipe. 

As we all know, coffee/espresso enhances the flavor of chocolate.  With cocoa powder, the chocolate undertone of the Guinness and now the addition of the espresso powder, I’m wondering how “chocolate-y” (not found in the dictionary but definitely in my vocabulary) this cupcake will taste.

I found the cupcake to be heavy-handed with the espresso powder.  It overshadowed the taste of chocolate and Guinness. 

I checked several other chocolate recipes which included espresso powder and found them to call for much less than this recipe does. 

I guess if you enjoy the flavor of espresso, then this recipe will work for you.  I did not enjoy it.  I think the original recipe is the one to bake.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

