Beer Cupcakes! ~ Round 2

As promised, today I baked Big City, Little Kitchen’s recipe again.  I was bound and determined to figure out why my cupcakes went so horribly sideways. 

Beer Cupcakes! from www.bigcitylittlekitchen.com

When we last met I was off to the store to get new baking soda.  Lo and behold!  The new baking soda has made everything right with the world.  I don’t know why one day my baking soda was fine and then the next it died.  I’d love to hear from you if you have an answer for me.

The first step is to simmer the Guinness and butter, then whisk in the cocoa powder and dark brown sugar.  Another OMG!  The aroma was incredible.  This time I tasted it, and I recommend this at home.  It was divine ~ all that dark brown sugar sweetened everything.

Again I recommend only filling the liners 1/2 full.  The cupcake just peeked above the liner.

Four days ago I told you how “seriously joyful” I was after tasting the cupcake; that my mouth was doing the happy dance. 

Today… my mouth is doing a slow tango of cupcake love!

This cupcake is beyond delicious.  It must be the dark brown sugar; yes, I’ve said it again.  This is a beautifully dense, yet still fluffy and moist cupcake.  The flavor is a rich chocolate and Guinness symphony. 

What can I say… I love this recipe even more than the earlier recipe.  I’m so glad I didn’t give up on it and made another stab at it today.

Well… off to deliver cupcakes to the neighbors, and pass along the slow tango of cupcake love.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beer Cupcakes! ~ Round 2

  1. Michelle says:

    Nanci’s neighbor here…these cupcakes incredibly! Just the right texture, moistness, and yummy, yummy chocolate enhancements by guiness beer. I’m her biggest fan.

  2. 2bee50 says:

    So strange that the baking soda went bad that fast. The cupcake looks absolutely yummy!! I may have to give it a try for St. Patrick’s Day. Love what you are doing with this blog.

  3. Maria says:

    Cali girl here is VERY jealous of your neighbors!

Leave a Reply

