Guinness Chocolate Cupcake

In March we all celebrate St. Patrick’s Day.  Either we boast we are Irish or we just love drinking green beer.  Well, this month I will be honoring my (Northern) Irish Grandma Bridget.  That means stout beer, Irish whiskey, Irish Cream (otherwise known as an Irish Car Bomb when all put together) and maybe a few St. Paddy’s Day cupcake surprises along the way.  Today we begin with stout cupcakes…

Chocolate Whiskey and Beer Cupcakes from http://smittenkitchen.com

Guinness Stout is perfect combined with chocolate because Guinness has a chocolate undertone to its flavor.  I will be using Guinness in all my stout recipes unless the recipe specifically calls for another brand.

As complicated as this recipe may look, it’s actually a fairly easy recipe to put together.  And well worth the try.

The first step is to simmer butter and Guinness together, then whisk in the unsweetened Dutch-processed cocoa powder.  OMG!  The aroma is heavenly.  I couldn’t resist a taste.  Trust me, don’t try this at home.  I forgot that it’s unsweetened.

The recipe doesn’t tell you how long to let the mixture “slightly cool” before adding to the egg mixture.  I was worried I hadn’t let it cool long enough and would end up curdling the egg mixture.  All was good.

The recipe says to fill the liners 2/3 to 3/4 full.  I filled mine 1/2 full and still found some cupcakes baked up over onto the pan.

I am seriously joyful right now.   My mouth is doing the happy dance. 

The cupcake is a decadently rich chocolate masterpiece.  The cupcake has a nice weight to it and is moist.  I can only image what it would taste like filled with whiskey ganache.  My mouth is watering just thinking about it.  I’m loving this cupcake, in case you couldn’t tell.

The recipe continues with a Ganache Filling (which includes Irish whiskey) and a Bailey’s Irish Cream Frosting.  I only test cupcake recipes for this blog but come St. Paddy’s Day I will be making the entire recipe.  Neighbors… get ready to meet the Irish Car Bomb.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guinness Chocolate Cupcake

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Wow, this sounds fabulous! Thanks for the great description. I may have to make these at home.

  2. Maria says:

    I’ve been seriously good on a diet, but this…..THIS…may force me to break it!
    Bake on!

Leave a Reply

