Orange Velvet Cupcakes

With only today and tomorrow left in the month I’m changing things up.  I found this recipe last October when I was looking for ideas for Halloween cupcakes.  Today I’m trying Orange Velvet.  (Wait until tomorrow; there’s another surprise.)

Orange Velvet Halloween Cupcakes from http://swelldesigner.blogspot.com

I wasn’t really paying close attention this morning when I put the eggs, buttermilk and butter out.  When I was ready to bake I took a closer look at the recipe and realized this is NOT a “velvet” recipe.  First, there is no cocoa powder, and second, it calls for orange extract in addition to the vanilla.  Rats! 

Since the ingredients were at room temperature and I didn’t want to throw them out, it was off to the grocery store to buy orange extract.  My plan was to use red food coloring instead of the orange but now that I have orange extract in the batter red’s not going to work.  So orange it is.

The recipe directions are quite interesting; it’s put together differently than most.  So when baking this recipe don’t forget to pay attention to all the details.

The cupcakes baked a few minutes faster than the recipe calls for; probably has to do with the slightly smaller size liner I used and the amount of batter in the liner. 

I have to say, I kind of like the orange color of the cupcake; and I don’t like the color orange.

The cupcakes smelled good when they came from the oven ~ orange extract at work.  The cupcake has a nice weight to it but for a moist cake it was a tad dry.  The flavor was pure orange extract.  I would try this recipe again but substitute the extract with orange juice and zest, and I think this will help with the moistness of the cake. 

So for this reason and because it’s not a “velvet” cupcake, I’m not happy with this recipe.

cupcakelab rating:  the bad

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Orange Velvet Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Interesting color for a cupcake, but they look delicious. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

