Martha’s Red Velvet

Martha Stewart ~ Queen of the detail-oriented.  Martha is fun but I don’t aspire to be like her, like many do; too much hard work and I do have a day job.  I like to take inspiration from her.  She has an amazing team working for her, and their ideas are beautiful and creative.  I only have one of Martha’s books, Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes, a birthday gift last year.  So… tonight I search for my inner Martha.

Red Velvet Cupcakes from Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes

Preparing the ingredients I knew the recipe was a little different from others I’ve tried.  First, the recipe calls for vegetable oil rather than butter (I ran into this with my first Paula Deen recipe venture).  Then, the cocoa powder to food coloring ratio leans heavily towards the cocoa powder.  It also calls for the dutch-processed cocoa powder.  In my cupboard I have a dark, rich dutch-processed cocoa powder.  I knew I was in trouble as soon as it went in the bowl.  The batter looked more brown than red.

My cupcakes came out brown and when I checked the photo in the book I saw that it too look more brown than red.  Maybe it’s suppose to look like this.

The cupcake does not taste like Red Velvet.  It very much has a chocolate flavor.  Quite surprising from Martha.  They were light and fluffy, and it didn’t stop me from eating the whole thing.   If you’re looking for a light chocolate cupcake this one might work.

I think I’ll try this recipe again but will use a different cocoa powder and play with the measurements a little.  I have to give Martha a second try.  Long live the Queen. 

If anyone has tried this recipe, I would like to hear from you.  

cupcakelab rating: the bad

Post Update (Sunday the 20th):  I made the cupcakes last night and stored them in an air tight container.  Just tried a cupcake, and I have to say, it was a pretty good light-chocolate cupcake.  It was still a moist and light cake.  Maybe the trick is to omit the food coloring and add a bit more cocoa powder to beef up the chocolate flavor.  I’ll have to try that after the next Red Velvet attempt.  Rating for this version of the cupcake: the good.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Martha’s Red Velvet

  1. 2bee50 says:

    I hope you will let us know how the second try goes? Surprising from Martha. It looks delicious, but not very red for red velvet. Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

