Paula Deen ~ Take Two

I remember reading that someone was looking for Paula Deen’s Blue Velvet Cake recipe.  I wondered if there would be a difference from her Red Velvet recipe.  So I went looking for it and found the Blue Velvet recipe on foodnetwork.com.  I was so upset with the outcome of my previous undertaking, I knew I had to try again.  Today’s the day.  Here’s to you Paula!

Paula Deen’s Blue Velvet Cake from www.foodnetwork.com

I did not use blue food coloring.  I used red food coloring so I could truly see and taste the differences in the recipes. 

The recipes are very different.  The BVC vs. the RVC recipes are:  cake flour vs. all-purpose flour; 2 c. sugar vs. 1-1/2 c. sugar; 1/2 tsp. baking soda vs. 1 tsp. baking soda; 2 sticks butter vs. 1-1/2 c. vegetable oil; 1 tsp. white distilled vinegar vs. 1 tbsp. white distilled vinegar; and 1 tbsp. cocoa vs. 1 tsp. cocoa.  Some very major differences!

Just looking at the batter I could see a dramatic change in color.  I was so excited at the possibilities I baked the entire batch.  The liners are only 2/3 full and the cupcakes baked up over the top of the liners and onto the pans.  Next time I’ll only partially fill my ice cream scoop, filling the liner 1/2 full, and see how they bake.

I’m very excited!!!   The cupcakes came out of the oven looking so beautiful (not the electrifying red of my previous venture) and smelling just incredible.  I could barely wait for them to cool so I could get a taste.

The cupcake was rich and delicious!!!  Light and fluffy, and full of flavor; you could taste the cocoa.  I’m very pleased with this recipe.  It’s now at the front of my Red Velvet recipe list.  Go Paula!

I’m not planning on making frosting.  The cupcakes are so wonderful I’m eating them plain.  Yes, I’m eating the cupcakes.  I’ve already had three.  Can you say weight gain?  Yikes!

cupcakelab rating:  the good

Post Update (February 23):  I’ve finally heard from all my neighbors who taste tested these cupcakes.  This recipe is rated #1 by the neighborhood.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Paula Deen ~ Take Two

  1. Celia says:

    Let’s see … seeing as how I ate THREE of the four cupcakes you gave my family I’d say they were pretty dang good! Definitely better than the last round (and those even had the cream cheese frosting)!

Leave a Reply

