Happy Valentine’s Day

I’m taking a detour from Red Velvet today.  I woke up this morning with dreams of chocolate, strawberries and champagne.  Yum!  As it’s Valentine’s Day, I chose…

DC Cupcakes’ Strawberry Champagne Cupcakes from www.oprah.com

Let me start by saying, this recipe includes the batter, champagne buttercream, chocolate ganache and champagne-soaked strawberries.  Can you think of anything more incredibly indulgent?

The recipe calls for sweet rose champagne.  While searching my small town, I found I needed to look for a champagne from Italy.  Then I was informed it’s not champagne; the Italian sweet rose is called Sparkling Wine.  I’ll have to ask a wine authority for more of an explanation.  Anyway, one store in town carries it.  Yeah!  It’s rather expensive; well, for my baking budget and for cupcakes.  The good thing is that one bottle will make two batches of cupcakes, with a little left for a glass while baking.  So that stretches the budget a little further.

The recipe says it makes 36 mini cupcakes.  I chose to make standard sized cupcakes.  I didn’t have any mini liners and, quite honestly, with these ingredients I wanted a BIG cupcake.  I was able to get 28 cupcakes from the recipe but I also increased the amount of diced champagne-soaked strawberries from 1/2 cup to 1 cup.  I’m glad I did this.  After baking the cupcakes I found the cupcake was not over “strawberried”.  Can’t imagine how sparse it would have been with only half a cup.  Best of all, this recipe is quick and easy to make.

This cupcake is delicious!  It is moist, has a light but good density and is bursting with flavor.  My taste buds are dancing with delight.  Now I’m worried I’m going to eat them all.  Pretty bold statement from one who doesn’t eat sweets.  This cupcake is that good. 

Are you now dreaming of these cupcakes?  You still have time to run out for ingredients and make these cupcakes for tonight.  Let me know if you do.

Well, it’s off to make the ganache, champagne buttercream and put the cupcakes together; and hurry to get them out the door before I eat another one.

Happy Valentine’s Day

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day

  1. bobbo says:

    Let me know if you’d like some pink champagne from California and I’ll ship some up to you. In exchange for some cupcakes, of course. 😉

  2. 2bee50 says:

    These cupcakes had my mouth watering as soon as you said Strawberry Champagne. They sound amazing. I would have gladly ordered them and had you ship them. Thanks for the wonderful reviews of recipes.

Leave a Reply

