Ding Dong Cupcakes

Since last December when I found this recipe I’ve been excited to make these cupcakes.  Ding Dongs… my Dad loved Ding Dongs.  He would hit the grocery store to buy his stash of Ding Dongs because we didn’t have many sweets in the house and Dad had an enormous sweet tooth.  So Dad… these cupcakes are for you.

Ding Dong Cupcakes from http://minibakercupcakes.blogspot.com/2010/09/

The recipe makes 48 mini cupcakes but in my mind you need to make standard size cupcakes (they need to be similar in size to actual Ding Dongs).  However, you only get 12 cupcakes from the full recipe.  So if you want to make more get your math skills ready.

The batter is a beautiful rich, dark chocolate with a perfect consistency.  The aroma from the cocoa powder (I used Valrhona) is intoxicating. 

The cupcakes came out of the oven perfect.  They had a beautiful texture and were moist.  Then the centers sank slightly.  I figured that all would turn out well when I filled the cupcake centers.

You use Marshmallow Fluff for the filling.  I’ve never had Marshmallow Fluff.  In fact, I’d never heard of it until a couple of years ago.  At the grocery store I had to ask where to find it.  All I can say is it’s an interesting little ingredient…

And what a pain to work with.  It’s sticky and gooey, and very difficult to put in a pastry bag.  I’m not sure how much Fluff filled each cupcake, as it was thick and hard to squeeze out of the bag.

I went ahead and covered the top of the cupcakes with chocolate ganache.  (Sorry, my ganache-ing skills aren’t that great.)  It wouldn’t be a Ding Dong unless it had its chocolate coating.

I love this cupcake, even though I’m not fond of the Fluff.  Dad would love this cupcake too.  I miss you Dad!

Well, its off to neighbors.  Just to update: the cupcakes are a huge success with everyone, especially with a nice cold glass of milk.

cupcakelab rating:  the good

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ding Dong Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    Ding Dongs bring back memories from my childhood. When you would open your lunch box and there was a perfectly wrapped Ding Dong. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I may have to break down and bake them. But I’m with you Marshmallow fluff is a little weird.

  2. Patti Rummel says:

    If you grew up back east you would know that Fluff is the star ingredient in the ultimate childhood favorite, the Fluffernutter sandwich!

Leave a Reply

