Monkey Bread Cupcakes

I’m so excited about today’s recipe.  I love Monkey Bread and never thought about making it into a cupcake.  How creative, Mrs. Bickford!  So… here we go.

Monkey Bread Cupcakes from http://dinnerwiththebickfords.blogspot.com/2009/09

What is Monkey Bread you ask?  It’s a beautiful dough filled with banana and chocolate dipped in melted butter and rolled in cinnamon sugar, then baked.  Do I have your attention now?

This is a very labor-intensive and time-consuming recipe.  First, you’ll need to be sure to have several hours available for the dough to rise.   Then, you’ll need time to put the bread together and bake.  Mrs. Bickford suggests setting aside about 3 hours.  I whole-heartedly agree.

I also suggest that you have an extra set of hands to help fill and coat the dough balls.  By the time I was getting to the second 6 cupcakes (this recipe only makes 12 cupcakes) my first 6 cupcakes were already rising.

There are a couple of ingredients you’ll need to have in the cupboard: yeast, ripe bananas and chocolate chunks.  Of course, I was missing one ingredient, yeast, so off to the store I went.

Mrs. Bickford’s photos show one ball on the bottom with the second on top.  As you can see in my photo, I tried them sideways and on top.  We’ll see what happens when they bake.

It smells delightful in my kitchen… cinnamon sugar ~ cinnamon sugar toast, snickerdoodles, cinnamon sugar french toast… well, you get the idea.  All heavenly foods from our childhood; and for some of us, our adulthood.

Mrs. Bickford’s cupcakes turned out prettier than mine.  But what does that have to do with taste?  Nothing.  They taste divine!!! 

There’s nothing better on a rainy afternoon than warm dough filled with banana and melted chocolate enveloped in cinnamon sugar.  Hmm…  And yes, I’m sharing with the neighbors.

this recipe needs to be in your stash.  It’s perfect for those special occasions.

cupcakelab rating: the good

Post Update:  These cupcakes are best served warm from the oven or reheated in the microwave for 20 seconds.

About frostedbaker

I love to bake! Especially cupcakes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Monkey Bread Cupcakes

  1. 2bee50 says:

    All I can say is YUMMY!! These sound amazing. I love Monkey Bread and like you would have never thought about them as a cupcake.

Leave a Reply

